RIGHT NOW, Spain vs. China in Olympic basketball is the closest thing to seeing a Filipino basketball team compete in the Olympics…..

by Allan


photo courtesy http://www.angryasianman.com/angry.html

Before I begin, I’d like to comment that my physical features includes having eyes that are similar to that of someone who is of Chinese origin. 
Of note, there was a controversy from Spanish athletes who made a controversial gesture imitating people of Chinese origin to show their “appreciation” in anticipation of the Beijing Olympics.  I personally didn’t feel offended, but hopeful that these Spanish athletes come to their senses & offer a full apology because even though I wasn’t offended, many other people were…… 

Tell us what you think? Were you offended by the Spanish athletes & their chinky eye gesture? Are you someone like me who only cares about the basketball, much like what you’re about to read below? Check out the link provided below for the full story.

http://www.angryasianman.com/2008/08/chink-eye-photos-week-in-review.html


Photo courtesy of: http://hoops.blink.ph/2007/05/17/finally-philippine-basketball-team-won/

I’ve had little time to actually watch Olympic events, but one thing that I paid attention to specifically was Mens Olympic basketball. I was doing my routine at the gym & they happened to have the China vs. Spain game on & while working out, I thought that this is the closest thing to seeing an actual Olympic Filipino basketball team, but hopefully one day to see them play for real…….

 As the Philippines is a country that was heavily influenced by both the Chinese & Spanish, it was actually refreshing to think of having something close to the Philippines competing, especially in basketball where it’s one the most loved sports in the country!


Yao Ming, also known as his Filipino alias “Boy” Reyes Chan

Photo courtesy of http://www.nbaloud.com/images/yao-ming-dunk1.jpg

On the real yo, I was thinking real crazy big that night thinking that NBA superstar Yao Ming looked like & was for a minute his Filipino alias, “Conchito ‘Boy’ Reyes Chan”. Being an avid basketball fanatic, everyone in that game was Filipino to me. For one game, for that one moment, I was like yeah, my people are playing basketball in the Olympics, man! I didn’t care what uniform they were wearing because they all looked Filipino to me. The Spanish had Filipino surnames; the Chinese had the physical features. It was great! I was cheering for both teams. I was hoping they could play a seven game series!

So when my sports fantasy moment ended, Spain ended up beating China. The optimistic side of me yearns to see an NBA Filipino born & bred player. I wouldn’t even care if he was half-something because at least there’s a Filipino connection!

What do you think? If the Philippines were to ever become an actual basketball powerhouse favoured to win a Medal, personally I’d be wearing the jerseys of the star players, I’d have a flag on my car. I’d be so proud to be Filipino!

It’s nice to think positively, optimistically, but not wishfully. One day, it would be really awesome to experience & see a Filipino basketball team compete in an Olympics! I’m not thinking wishfully as I know it’s inevitable & definitely reasonable to see an NBA Filipino player one day!

I just honestly think Filipinos are too damn talented to not be competing with the worlds best, especially when it comes to a sport that millions of people in the Philippines play……

~ by allanserrano81 on August 21, 2008.

11 Responses to “RIGHT NOW, Spain vs. China in Olympic basketball is the closest thing to seeing a Filipino basketball team compete in the Olympics…..”

  1. oh damn!

    and if you look closely… the Spanish team is sponsored by SAN MIGUEL BEER!

  2. Oh haha! That’s right – San Miguel Beer! That’s too crazy.

    Someone should write about SMB here in the blog. I remember traveling with this girl from Manchester in Vietnam and when I ordered SMB she said that she and her friends in the UK would call 5:00pm “San Miguel-o clock” coz they’d always have one after work. Which is funny because SMB had an ad campaign with 5-thirsty as their tag line.

    She wasn’t aware that SMB was from the Philippines. So does everyone foreign who knows OF SMB but think that it’s a Spanish beer!😡

  3. haha

    That might be a subject for another day! When I was in Madrid, there was a huge San Miguel Brewery right beside the airport.

    And I’ve heard somewhere that San Mig is one of the world’s first beers, having been invented in Spain and then brought to the Phils by friars (along with Christianity, chorizo , smallpox and guilt).

    So did it start in Spain or in the Phils and isn’t the SMB in the Phils owned by the Lopez family or something?

  4. Hearing about Filipinos in the Olympics by some twisted convoluted way is starting to get a little out of hand. And this story takes the cake. Frankly, it actually makes me depressed because stories like this, no offense to the author which I’m sure wrote this piece to be positive to us Filipinos, actually does the opposite. While we’re busy trying to make connections to athletes which are 1/4th Filipino and living vicariously through the Spanish basketball team because you wish we had one when you have overlooked the fact that at the time when this article was posted Mary Antoinette Rivero was in medal contention. If this was meant to be a joke piece, maybe I just have had enough.

  5. but isn’t 1/4 Filipino still Filipino?

    …and worth connecting with?

  6. Yeah I noticed the San Mig logo on that photo of the Spanish team. Well, San Miguel is the largest beverage company in southeast asia. A couple of friends of mine went to the Philippines to start a beverage company (similar to Mike’s Hard Lemonade) and they couldn’t survive San Miguel’s power & influence.

    Btw Len, it’s the Soriano (which happens to be my middle name but no relation) family who are usually associated to San Miguel. However, last I know, the Cojuangco’s reign over that kingdom nowadays. But you know how it is with big corporations, there’s always something going on. I wouldn’t be surprised if Gordon Gekko buys San Mig.

  7. thats interesting. you own San Miguel, eh?

    well, I do know that the LCBO stocks San Miguel here in some T.O. locations, but you have to look closely — some are brewed in Hong Kong and some are the one from Philz. And they taste different! And those taste different from the one in the Philippines.

    Apparently, all these different San Miguel’s share is the same original Spanish owner, the name and the logo.

    Anyways, nothing beats a cold San Mig LITE!!!!

    (and chicharon)

  8. I’ve never in my life had a San Miguel brew. Dude, I’m going to try it for the first time next month! Exciting! Explosion! HAHAHAHAHA! LOL! I hear it’s watered down much like those American beers! Corona, Heineken, now that’s good shit! Regardless, I got to see what all the hype’s about & drink what my Lolos & generations before drank!

  9. Speaking of San Miguel beer, there’s this Asian restaurant called Bite Noddles+Rice in Little Italy (College, west of Grace) that serves it, along with other Asian beers. FYI.🙂

  10. we MUST pay that place a visit and do a taste test.

    Allan, I’m not a beer expert by any means (in fact the yeastier the beer, the more my stomach does backflips) but whenever I’m in the Philippines I definitely partake in the San Miguel.

    There’s the San Mig Lite that everyone seems to be drinking these days and that’s like a Coors Light or a Steamwhistle, but as far as I could tell, the stubby bottled original San Miguel was darker and a bit heavier. Kinda like a Molson (but again what do I know)…

    … and then there’s RED HORSE.

  11. and with red horse, also comes the happy HAPPY horse (smiling horse logo)
    they say that one in every case of red horse has a happy horse
    they say it’s stronger than the typical red horse
    some bars in the Phil’s sell them with a higher price

Leave a Reply

 
