Fight My Cock.

by Leonard

Looks like we’re in the news again here in Canada and not for good reason (again). Turns out the big cockfighting bust in Vancouver has been traced to the Philippines. When this news broke I had a feeling it was Filipinos, but part of me hoped it was a Michael Vick-type character. Just with birds.

fight my cock

Anyways, its not so cut and dry. The implicated say that they simply breed the birds and then send them to the Philippines where cockfighting is an age-old tradition. They claim that there is no way that they could be sanctioning actual cockfights (which is illegal here) because cockfighting rings (or Sabongan) are huge and there’d be a lot of blood all over the place. According to them, they are being prosecuted because of “assumption”. It’s not illegal to breed and export animals.

What do you think about cockfighting? Savage embarrassment or Cultural Tradition?

And do you think these guys are getting the shit end of the stick?

First, read the article HERE.

THEN DISCUSS.

~ by Leonard on March 3, 2008.

5 Responses to “Fight My Cock.”

  1. Cockfighting… I don’t know, for me it’s far down the list of things I’d like to see changed in the Phils. Gambling is a big problem for the poor, but it’s a symptom of greater problems. The hope for a big gambling win is borne out of the fact that most are simply not making enough money at work…

    That said, it is a crazy ‘sport’ and it’s mad bloody. Frankly, and this is coming from someone that’s only seen a few fights, I don’t find it all that exciting. The fights are usually quick and often I have no idea what happened, I just see a flurry of feathers and then a dead twitching bird lies in the ring. The people go mad crazy for the stuff though. The crowd is loud and raucous at these events, and you can see that at that exact moment, everyone has forgotten about everything else except the fight…

  2. My uncle goes to the Sabongan and we have a few big ass roosters at our place. In fact, I’ve even brought him vitamins and stuff to feed the birds.

    What’s really funny is that there is a channel on cable in the Philippines that shows televised cockfights. Its a cheaply produced broadcast and they use the theme music from “Enter the Dragon” complete with Bruce Lee going “HAAA-YAAA” while the roosters fight.

    You’re right though, it does look sort of boring and not at all the athletic ballet that one might assume it could be. To me, it seems sort of random actually. I’ve been to a few cockfights and while it was interesting… I thought it was sort of creepy and scary. There’s a whole lot of testosterone in that arena there.

    One thing I’m caught up on tho is the tradition of the whole thing. I don’t feel either way about it since if I’m eating a chicken (or a cow or a pig for that matter) I’m already being mean — there is tradition there despite how brutal.

    In Spain, there are a whole lot of people who will tell you that they don’t agree with bullfights, but would never try and shut them down because that would end generations of tradition.

    There’s a part of me that feels like the Filipinos in BC are being given an unfair shake based on lack of understanding.

    I mean, we are in Canada, but shouldn’t this cultural tradition at least be acknowledged?

    They can shut them down and even kill the birds, but when they start calling them excuses for humans then I think that’s crossing a line and I’d even say that’s racial.

  3. I agree with what you say about the cultural insensitivity in the tone of those articles (found on the right hand side of this page).

    It’s kindof how I feel about the usual Western “outrage” that is expressed when discussing women in Islam. Way too often the outrage is really just veiled Eurocentrism as they write without considering social and cultural context, history, and the writings and opinions of the women’s organisations in the Islamic world.

    Just like with the cockfighting issue, there is a valid criticism being made when people talk of animal cruelty, but to simply dismiss the social and cultural context nothing is achieved except a polarization of opinions and peoples.

    Cockfighting is part of the Philippine culture. That doesn’t mean that it has to be that way forever, but it does mean that any changes have to be decided upon and made by the Filipino people–not dictated from outside.

  4. oh yeah, about the cock fighting channel:

    I first found out about that when I saw the Cock Fighting themed shop at the Mall of Asia. They had it playing continuously on a widescreen HD TV in their window! heh. it had such classy t-shirts with slogans like:

    “Look at the size of my cock”
    “Want to fight cocks?”
    etc…

  5. ha.

    shirts with jokes like that are the REAL crime.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

